Ohio DOs Represent State Profession at National Meeting

Delegates Reaffirm Commitment to OPP for Board Certification

Ohio Delegation to the AOA HOD 2019

(July 31, 2019) Thirty-four OOA members, including three medical students, were in Chicago, July 26-28, to represent the Ohio profession at the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) House of Delegates. The delegation was led by Chair George Thomas, DO, of Cleveland; Vice Chair Paul A. Martin, DO, of Dayton; and OOA President Charles D. Milligan, DO, of Orrville.

The annual meeting brought together more than 500 osteopathic physicians and medical students from across the country to enact AOA policy and consider proposed resolutions, including two submitted by the OOA. Of particular importance, was the AOA commitment to the inclusion of osteopathic principles and practice in every osteopathic board certification examination, regardless of specialty. In addition, several resolutions were combined and approved to reinstate authority of specialty boards to allow a requirement for specialty-specific content in CME for certification/re-certification.

An Ohio resolution, H-228, directing the AOA to encourage the ACGME to advocate for transparency of parental leave policies was approved.

Milligan chaired the Ad Hoc Reference Committee, which had 38 resolutions under its purview.

The meeting marked beginnngs and endings for Ohio leaders. Jennifer J. Hauler, DO, of Tipp City, was elected to the AOA Board of Trustees for a one-year term. She will serve alongside Robert W. Hostoffer, Jr, DO, of Cleveland, who has been on the board since July 2017. William J. Burke, DO, concluded his service as an AOA board trustee after nine years of service. Adam Coridan, DO, who graduated from Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine (OU-HCOM) in May, also completed his year as the student trustee.

Ronald R. Burns, DO, a family physician in private practice in Orlando, was installed as president. He is the first OU-HCOM graduate to serve in the position. Burns graduated in 1989 and completed an internship at Doctors Hospital of Stark County in Massillon.

Thomas Ely, DO, a family physician and health care consultant in Tennessee, was elected president-elect. He is a past president of the Tennessee Osteopathic Medical Association and has been on the AOA Board of Trustees for the past 12 years.

This was the first year all COM extension campuses were granted a delegate slot—so the OOA had three student delegates: Marcus Lowe, Eddie Passen, and Andrew Williams.

More information and photos are on the OOA Facebook page.

Printer-Friendly Version